Waiving Mechanism of Public Hospitals


Introduction

Application for medical fee waiver It has always been the Government’s fundamental philosophy that no one will be denied adequate medical care due to lack of means. To ensure that this principle will continue to be upheld after the fee revamp in April 2003, recipients of Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) will be waived from payment of public health care expenses1 upon presentation of identity proof and claim their waiver eligibility status each time they register for consultation and their waiver status could be confirmed through online eligibility checking. To assist the three vulnerable groups in the community, i.e., the low income group, chronically ill patients and elderly patients who have little income or assets but who are not CSSA recipients, the medical fee waiver mechanism has been enhanced at that time to provide them with effective protection from undue financial burden.

The following guiding principles were taken into account when the waiver mechanism was enhanced in 2003: (1)Public funds should be channeled to the vulnerable groups and to services which carry major financial risks ; (2)There should be a set of objective and transparent criteria to assess a patient's eligibility for exemption from payment of public medical fees. At present, both financial and non-financial factors should be considered; and (3)The enhanced mechanism should facilitate accessibility to services, while maintaining low administrative and operating cost of the existing mechanism.

Non-CSSA recipients who could not afford medical expense at the public sector can apply for a medical fee waiver at the Medical Social Services Units of public hospitals and clinics or the Integrated Family Service Centres and the Family and Child Protective Services Units of Social Welfare Department (IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD). Medical Social Workers (MSWs) or Social Workers (SWs) of IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD would assess the application with due consideration given to the financial, social and medical condition of applicants on a household basis.

Starting from 15 Jul 2017, the medical fee waiver for public healthcare services has been extended to cover Old Age Living Allowance (OALA) recipients meeting the eligibility criteria and from 1 Jun 2018, the medical fee waiving arrangement is also applicable to Higher OALA recipients aged 75 or above. Eligible OALA recipients will be waived for the standard fees and charges for public healthcare services upon presentation of the identity proof and claim their waiver eligibility status each time they register for consultation and their waiver status could be confirmed through online eligibility checking.

1With effective from March 2017, Level 0 Voucher Holders of the Pilot Scheme on Residential Care Service Voucher for the Elderly are also waived from payment of public health care expenses.

Financial consideration

Patients who meet both of the following two financial criteria are eligible to apply for a medical fee waiver under the enhanced mechanism (patients who do not meet these criteria could provide other non-financial factors for the consideration of MSWs or SWs of IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD):

(a) The patient's monthly household2 income does not exceed 75% of the Median Monthly Domestic Household Income (MMDHI) applicable to the patient's household size, and
(b) The value of the patient's household2 asset is within a certain limit applicable to their household size. It should be noted that the first flat (self-owned or rented) resided in together by the patient's household will not be counted towards this asset limit, and households with elderly members will enjoy a higher asset limit than those without (taking into account the fact that most elderly citizens will no longer earn any income and have to depend on personal savings).

2Household includes patient and his/her core family members living under the same roof, i.e. patient’s parents, children, spouse and dependent siblings – siblings aged below 18, aged between 18-25 receiving full-time education or disabled adult siblings (i.e. receiving disability allowance under the SSA scheme or standard rates for 100% disabled or requiring constant attendance under the CSSA scheme).

Median Monthly Domestic Household Income (MMDHI)(HK Dollar)
By Household Size - 2nd Quarter 2018
Household Size Median Monthly Domestic Household Income 75% of the MMDHI 50% of the MMDHI
1 $8,300 $6,225 $4,150
2 $19,900 $14,925 $9,950
3 $30,100 $22,575 $15,050
4 $40,800 $30,600 $20,400
5 $52,500 $39,375 $26,250
6 or above $56,800 $42,600 $28,400
Source: General Household Survey, Census and Statistics Department, HKSAR Government
(The above figures were updated in September 2018)


Asset Limit for Waiving of Medical Charges(HK Dollar)
Household Size Asset Limit (with no elderly member) Asset Limit(with 1 elderly member) Asset Limit(with 2 elderly members)
1 $41,500 $209,500 -
2 $85,000 $253,000 $421,000
3 $127,500 $295,500 $463,500
4 $170,000 $338,000 $506,000
5 $212,500 $380,500 $548,500
Note: The asset limit is raised by $168,000 for each elderly member (i.e. age = or >65) in the patient's family.

Patients whose monthly household income do not exceed 50% of the MMDHI applicable to their household size and pass the asset limit test will be considered for full waiving of medical fees at public hospitals/clinics.

Non-financial consideration

MSWs or SWs of IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD would also consider the following non-financial factors, apart from the financial factors of household income and asset:

(a) The patient's clinical condition as defined by the patient's frequency of use of different public medical services, and severity of illness;
(b) Whether the patient is a disabled person, single parent with dependent children, or from other vulnerable groups;
(c) Whether a medical fee waiver could provide incentive and support to solve the patient's family problems;
(d) Whether a patient has any special expenses that make it difficult to pay for his/her medical fees at public hospitals/clinics; or
(e) Other justifiable social factors.

MSWs or SWs of IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD would consider the above factors to ensure elderly or chronic patients who are frequent users of public medical services could obtain a medical fee waiver if needed. This list is not exhaustive and the MSWs or SWs of IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD will exercise discretion to grant waivers, where appropriate, to a patient with special difficulties (even if he/she fails to meet the financial criteria) on a case-by-case basis. The waiving mechanism and guidelines will be regularly reviewed to ensure needy patients of adequate medical care.

Validity period of waiving

A medical fee waiver granted by the MSWs or SWs of IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD after assessment will either be one-off or valid for a period of time. The MSWs or SWs of IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD have the discretion to decide the exact period based on a patient's actual needs and conditions (the longest period being twelve months). For convenience of patients, the MSWs or SWs of IFSCs/ FCPSUs may in advance grant medical fee waiver to a chronically ill patient who frequently needs Specialist Out-patient (SOP) service, which the waiver will be valid for a defined period of time for the SOP service he/she needs. To make the system more user-friendly, the waiver issued by MSWs is not only applicable to the institution he/ she is admitted, attends or obtains the waiver, but is also applicable to other public institutions (i.e. the Hospital Authority or the Department of Health) that provide the same service, including in-patient service, out-patient services and community services etc.

Application for a fee waiver

Patients who have financial difficulties in paying medical expenses could apply for medical fee waiving. Applicants can bring along original and copy of relevant documents as follows and approach MSWs or SWs of IFSCs/ FCPSUs of SWD during office hours for assessment:

(a) Proof of Household member component(patient and core family members living together) (b) Proof of Household Income(patient and core family members living together) (c) Proof of Household Assets(patient and core family members living together) (d) Proof of Household Major Expenses(patient and core family members living together) Remarks:
  1. Core family members include patient's parents, spouse, children and dependent siblings (i.e. siblings aged below18, aged between 18-25 receiving full-time education or disabled adult siblings).
  2. The documents listed above only serve as reference. According to individual case merit, Medical Social Workers may request for other documents or contact the patient's family member(s) for clarification and verification of information when necessary.
  3. The Medical Fee Waiving Mechanism provides a safety net for needy patients. The patient/ applicant and household member(s) must provide complete, accurate, up-to-date and true information to the Hospital Authority/ Social Welfare Department for assessment. The Hospital Authority established the Post Approval Checking Mechanism that will periodically conduct checks on approved medical fee waiver applications to confirm accuracy of information provided.

Enquiries


Post Approval Checking Mechanism

In the application of medical fee waiving, applicants are required to provide complete, accurate, true and up-to-date information to Medical Social Workers/ Social Workers of Social Welfare Department for assessment and verification. In order to maintain integrity of the medical fee assistance systems and avoid these systems from being abused, the Hospital Authority established Investigation Section (Fee Assistance Application) in March 2007 (renamed as Medical Fee Assistance Section in 2008) for the purposes of: To accomplish the purposes, a Post Approval Checking Mechanism has been put in place at hospital clusters and the Hospital Authority Head Office to conduct:

Medical fee assistance demands your honesty

Poster for Medical fee assistance demands your honesty Medical Fee Waiving and Samaritan Fund are provided only for needy patients. The Checking Units of the Hospital Authority conduct checks on approved applications regularly. The patient/ applicant and household member(s) must provide complete, accurate, true and up-to-date information and has to report to the Hospital Authority/ Social Welfare Department any changes in the particulars in the application within the validity period of the financial assistance.

Don't break the law

Acquiring Medical Fee Waiving by deception is a Criminal Offence. In addition to the consequence of being ineligible for the Medical Fee Waiving, the patient/ applicant/ patient's household member(s) shall be liable on conviction upon indictment to imprisonment of 10 years under the Theft Ordinance (Chapter 210 of the Laws of Hong Kong).

Information Pamphlet

pamphlet_cover.jpg
(Click to view)

Video

Video Icon Waiving of Medical Charges
Part 1 - Can I get help if I could not afford medical expense? Part 2 - Eligibility for medical fee waiver and application procedures
Part 1 - Can I get help if I could not afford medical expense? Part 2 - Eligibility for medical fee waiver and application procedures

Duration : 1:37min

Duration : 07:25min


Hospital Authority
June 2018
(with MMDHI figures updated in September 2018)

公立醫院及診所費用減免機制


申請簡介

Application for medical fee waiver 在2003年4月公立醫院及診所收費架構重整後,醫院管理局(下稱「醫管局」)繼續貫徹政府的基本理念,即是不會有市民因經濟原因而得不到適當的醫療照顧。因此,領取綜合社會保障援助(下稱「綜援」)的病人,只須於每次登記求診時通知醫院/診所職員乃符合醫療費用豁免資格人士,並出示身份證明文件,職員透過聯機查詢系統確認資格後,即可獲豁免公營醫療服務的收費1。此外,為保障沒有領取綜援的三類人士:低收入人士、長期病患者及貧困年長病人,政府已經制訂措施加強當時的醫療費用減免機制,以免他們承受沉重的經濟負擔。

政府是基於以下的原則加強當時的減免機制:(1)公帑應集中資助弱勢社群,以及那些對病人構成沉重經濟負擔的服務;(2)在評定病人是否符合資格獲減免公共醫療費用時,設定一套客觀而具透明度的準則;同時須考慮經濟和非經濟的因素;(3)經加強後的機制應利便市民使用,而同時維持所需的行政和營運費用在現時的低水平。

非綜援受助人如因經濟困難未能負擔醫療服務收費,可向各公立醫院和診所的醫務社會服務部、社會福利署綜合家庭服務中心或保護家庭及兒童服務課申請減免繳費。醫務社會工作者(下稱「醫務社工」及社會福利署綜合家庭服務中心或保護家庭及兒童服務課社工(下稱「社署家庭服務社工」)會處理有關申請,並會以家庭為基礎作出資格評估,考慮因素包括申請人患病所引致的經濟、社會和醫療情況。

自2017年7月15日起,醫療費用減免安排擴展至符合可獲豁免公營醫療服務收費資格的長者生活津貼受惠人。有關豁免安排於2018年6月1日起,同樣適用於75歲或以上的「高額長者生活津貼」受惠人。合資格的長者生活津貼受惠人只須於每次登記求診時通知醫院/診所職員乃符合醫療費用豁免資格人士,並出示身份證明文件,職員透過聯機查詢系統確認資格後,便可獲豁免相關費用。

1於2017年3月起,長者院舍住宿照顧服務券試驗計劃級別0院舍券持有人可獲豁免公營醫療服務的收費。

經濟準則

只要同時符合下列兩項經濟準則,可根據加強後的機制申請醫療費用減免(如未符合經濟因素,也可以向醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工提供其他考慮因素):

(a) 病人的每月家庭2入息,不超過適用於其家庭人數的家庭住戶每月入息中位數的75%;以及
(b) 病人的家庭2資產值低於適用於其家庭人數的指定上限。至於病人及其家庭成員共同自住的第一間物業則不計算入這項資產值內。此外,由於大部分長者已不再賺取任何收入,而且需倚賴個人積蓄生活,有長者成員的家庭資產限額將較沒有長者成員的家庭為高。

2家庭包括病人及其同住的核心家庭成員,即病人的父母、子女、夫/妻及未滿18歲,或18至25歲正接受全日制教育,或成年而有殘疾 (即正領取公共福利金計劃下的傷殘津貼,或綜合社會保障援助計劃下殘疾程度達100%,或需要經常護理的標準金額)的兄弟姊妹。

按家庭人數釐定的家庭住戶每月入息中位數(港元)
二零一八年第三季
家庭人數

家庭住戶每月入息中位數

家庭住戶每月
入息中位數的75%
家庭住戶每月
入息中位數的50%
1 $11,000 $8,250 $5,500
2 $21,000 $15,750 $10,500
3 $31,800 $23,850 $15,900
4 $43,400 $32,550 $21,700
5 $53,200 $39,900 $26,600
6 或以上 $59,000 $44,250 $29,500
資料來源:香港特別行政區政府統計處綜合住戶統計調查
(以上數字於2018年12月更新)


獲減免醫療費用家庭的資產上限(港元)
家庭人數

資產上限(沒有長者成員)

資產上限
(有1位長者成員)
資產上限
(有2位長者成員)
1 $41,500 $209,500 -
2 $85,000 $253,000 $421,000
3 $127,500 $295,500 $463,500
4 $170,000 $338,000 $506,000
5 $212,500 $380,500 $548,500
註:病人家庭如有長者(即年齡不少於65歲),資產限額可因應每名長者而獲提升168,000元。

如病人的家庭入息不超過適用於其家庭人數的家庭住戶每月入息中位數的50%,並符合資產限額資格,則一般可獲考慮全數減免醫療服務收費。

非經濟因素

醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工除根據病人每月家庭收入和資產值評估經濟情況外,會同時考慮各項非經濟因素,例如:

(a) 病人的臨床情況(根據病人使用各項公營醫護服務的頻密程度和病情嚴重性來界定);
(b) 病人是否殘疾人士、需供養子女的單親家長,或其他弱勢社群人士;
(c) 減免收費能否促使和幫助病人解決家庭問題;
(d) 病人是否需付任何特別開支,令其難以支付公共醫療費用;或
(e) 其他社會因素。

醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工考慮上述非經濟因素時會確保經常使用公共醫療服務的長者和長期病患者,如有需要也可得到醫療費用減免。由於各類社會因素不能盡列,醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工將按個別情況酌情處理。減免醫療服務收費的準則及指引將會定期檢討,以確保需要的病人得到適當的醫療照顧。

減免有效期

醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工經評估後批准的收費減免會分為只限生效一次,或在某段期間內有效。如屬後者,醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工可視乎病人的實際需要和情況,酌情決定這段有效期的長度(最長為十二個月)。為方便需經常到專科門診覆診的長期病患者,醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工也會因應個別病人的情況,預先審批專科門診費用減免。此外,為了更方便已獲醫療費用減免的病人,醫務社工所簽發的減免證明書不單適用於病人留院、求診或獲發減免證明書的公立醫院/診所,同時亦適用於屬醫管局及衛生署提供同一服務的其他醫院/診所,包括住院服務、門診服務及社康服務等。

申請減免醫療費用的方法

病人若因經濟困難,未能繳付應繳的醫療款項而需要申請醫療費用減免,可於辦公時間內,帶同下列文件 (正本及副本各一份),前往公立醫院/診所的醫務社會服務部、所住地區的社會福利署綜合家庭服務中心或保護家庭及兒童服務課,以便進行有關的評估。

(a) 病人及同住核心家庭成員的同住證明 (b) 病人及同住核心家庭成員的收入證明 (c) 病人及同住核心家庭成員的資產證明 (d) 病人及同住核心家庭成員的主要支出證明 注意:
  1. 核心家庭成員包括病人的父母、子女、夫/妻及屬受養人的兄弟姊妹(即未滿18歲,或18至25歲正接受全日制教育,或成年而有殘疾的兄弟姊妹)。
  2. 以上所列之文件僅供參考,醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工可視乎個別申請的情況而要求提供其他文件,及/或在有需要時,聯絡病人的家人或有關人士澄清和核實資料。
  3. 醫療費用減免機制是為貧困的病人而設。病人/申請人及家庭成員必須提供完整、準確、適時及真確的資料予醫院管理局/社會福利署。醫院管理局設有覆核機制,會就已批核之醫療費用減免申請個案作定期覆核,以確立有關申請所提供的資料之準確性。

查詢


已批核個案之覆核機制

申請醫療費用減免時,申請人必須向醫務社工/社署家庭服務社工提供完整、準確、真確及適時的資料,以供評估和核對。為了確保醫療費用援助制度健全及防止被濫用,醫院管理局於2007年3月成立覆核組(減免申請) (2008年改稱醫療費用減免組),負責: 為達致上述目標,醫院管理局於總辦事處及各醫院聯網設立的覆核機制會:

申請減費重誠信

申請減費重誠信海報 醫療費用減免及撒瑪利亞基金乃為貧困病人而設。醫院管理局設立的覆核組會定期覆查已批核的個案。申請人必須提供完整、準確、真確及適時的資料,並在取得經濟援助的有效期間,向醫院管理局/社會福利署呈報申請表內的任何資料更改。

切勿以身試法

騙取醫療費用減免乃屬刑事罪行,除可導致病人喪失資格外,病人/申請人/病人家庭成員可因觸犯盜竊罪條例(香港法例第210章)而被起訴。任何觸犯盜竊罪的人士,一經定罪,可被判入獄十年





簡介單張

簡介單張
(點擊參閱)

短片

Video Icon 「醫療費用減免」
第一部分:有經濟困難未能負擔醫療費用怎麼辦? 第二部分:申請資格及手續
第一部分:有經濟困難未能負擔醫療費用怎麼辦? 第二部分:申請資格及手續

錄像長度 : 01:37min

錄像長度 : 07:25min


醫院管理局
2018年6月
(內文中 "按家庭人數釐定的家庭住戶每月入息中位數" 於2018年12月更新)